Fucking Cops part 1

I fucking hate cops.

Except for those in some small towns.

Here; let me explain:

first game of Dungeons and Dragons with this new group, and I am DMing, when I get there, I happen to have my bike and no ride home. At 11 pm I start riding home, from Sutherlin to Roseburg. This involves riding most of the way on either the I-5 or the 99. I start heading to the 99 scared as shit because its dark out, my reflector broke off recently, and cars go really fast. I have always had this phobia where when two or more moving… things… are close together I freak out. Like on swing-sets in first grade, I’m on one, swinging and having a good time, and some kid gets on the one right next to me, I get scared as hell and jump off to avoid that fear of crashing into him. This is the same with bicycles and cars, but I have learned to withstand being in a car when someone else is driving (But not when I am driving, that’s for sure). With bikes, it’s completely different, since you are on this thing, relying on centripetal force to keep you up and stable, and if some giant monster weighing more than 2 tons gets near me, of course I’ll be scared shitless. Another bicycle is another thing, since if those handlebars get too close, we could both crash and fall into the streets, where there are the iron giants rolling down over twice our speed (sometimes up to 4 x our speed).

Anyways, I’m scared out of my mind, heading towards the 99. A cop happens to see me, since a lot of druggies roll around that part on bikes with no reflectors. The cop finds out I’m not a druggy and just some kid trying to get home, and get this:

HE OFFERS TO GIVE ME A RIDE HOME.

First, this is a Sutherlin cop; a small town guy who is not a complete jerk-op. He is a much nicer cop than any other, that’s for sure.

Second, he calls a friend over, because we can’t fit my bike in his trunk.

His friend calls another friend, who happens to not have a bungee cable as well.

Third, we decide that caution tape is pretty sturdy, so we tie down his trunk with that.

Fourth, he gives me a ride home

WITHOUT ASKING ANYTHING; NOT EVEN MY NAME.

I get home, glad that I am not just another smear on the road.

Leave a Reply

