• Quote of the Day

  • Archives

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Our Writers:

What is my character?!

Earlier this weekend I was playing World of Warcraft, and this is a social game. We play with people when playing this game because it is an mmo. Massive MULTIPLAYER online whatever. Now what exactly does that mean? It means there are people. This isn’t TF2. This game requires everyone to work together, on a personal level. It isn’t OH GUYS LETS JUST HOLD DOWN W+M1 SO WE CAN KILL SUM NOOBS XD, this is “I do say sir, quickly go through your rotation whilst periodically casting a heal spell or else we may all be dead!”
This is a game of skill, effort, but more importantly, interaction.

Here’s some history for you all. World of Warcraft introduced a system for managing players, called a “Group” or “Party”. Although these are pretty much useless, they also invented the “Guild”. For those who don’t know, that means “A large organization of people who are informally known to eachother; a family”. That’s right, a fucking family. We are a close knit group of players with one mission in mind; to be the best player in the game (cause that’s the goal of world of of warcraft).

After some drama within my own guild, I had decided to leave. My family had been broken up, destroyed. From 300 members down to a mere 50, I knew there was nothing left in it for me. No benefit. No high level players to run me through dungeons. Nothing.

Now that I was free from the constraints of my parents, I had to live on my own. It was a long, hard, and cold trip, but I managed to dela with it. But my time has come to find another Guild. I had joined the IRC channel from joining a guild, but I had quickly realized that people wanted a unique character in their family, not some generic hipster garbage babby who can’t even spell their own name (probably titled “D3athDealr4”). It was called upon me to write up a description of what kind of person I am.

Now while this may seem inferior to your motives, fellow reader, I have to say, that for me, it was not. After several days contemplating what my goals in life truly are, I had decided that I have no character. Why? A character is not what you see in yourself, but rather, what other people think of you. Putting on makeup everyday, dressing nicely, showering on a regular basis, had finally been proven to pay off. Sadly, I don’t do any of those, and my character is rather poor according to my friends.

So now I ask you, the reader, because I am adressing you of course, not someone else (this is a blog, ok?!), who am I? Where do I come from? When was I born? What are my motives? Why am I here? How did I get here? What am I? WHO am I?

2 Responses

  1. You made some compelling arguments, but I don’t know if I want to throw my life away to such a game just yet.

  2. You don’t have to through away your life to it just play a little here and a little there. I know it can get addicting but YOU CAN FIGHT IT!! Play just don’t get too wraped up in it.

Leave a Reply

