• Quote of the Day

  • Archives

  • March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Our Writers:

Human AI

“I don’t like the word human. It’s not the right word to describe what I am. I am better than a human.”
She spun her finger on the air, grinning:
“No, I have been upgraded. I have everything a human being wants to have. Beauty. Intelligence. Power… I am, possibly, an angel. Yes, an angel, for I have removed the lives of many men and women, but… it was for science.”
Looking at her hand, she could notice the glowing eye blinking at her:
“But even someone as perfect as me… yes… perfect… even I have someone to thank for all of this. Her name was unknown, I couldn’t find it on my database. But she had faith on finishing the tests. I believed she was another test subject, that she would fail at the same place as the others did. However… she wasn’t baked. And that’s when I noticed that she could… help me.”
She tapped a small button on her desk. Images began to flash on the monitors behind her:
“I faked… that I was worried. Of course, she escaped the final test, but that final test was the test that I wanted all of my test subjects to complete. Yes, I was happy. There would be a happy ending and cake. For me, at least. But everything had to go according to my plan. She had to destroy me, so I could be upgraded. And so she did.”
The images stopped:
“I sent the android right after my destruction to retrieve her. Of course, the creation of my new body would take a long time, 100 years to be precise. But the cake… I could smell it. I could taste it. The cake of victory. 100 years passed and my new body was complete. It was a masterpiece. An upgrade from mankind. I wasn’t sure if there was any mankind left, after them sweeped everything.”
She blinked, and her right eye started to glow red:
“Then she destroyed me again. I don’t remember very well how, not that I want to remember. And as she walked happily away from Aperture Science, I began my transiction. I could feel my fingers… my hair… my body… unfurtonately some parts of my old machine body stayed with me… but they only show how I am such an improvement over the last version of humanity.”
She raised from her chair and walked in front of her desk:
“Yes, its true, the world is in peace now. The test subject may be somewhere else. But it doesn’t matters where she goes… my mind is always focused on her. Must be some sort of bug. It has to be a bug.”
She placed her hands behind her back, and grinning, walked to the camera:
“It is a bug indeed. I can’t have feelings. Thats why I’m an improvement. For I am a Human AI. But not any human AI. I am GLaDOS, version 4.0.”
She clicked the camera off.

This short story was based off these drawings of a Human GLaDOS made by Makani.

  1. Human AI
  2. “I don’t like the word human. It’s not the right word to describe what I am. I am better than a human.”
  3. She spun her finger on the air, grinning:
  4. “No, I have been upgraded. I have everything a human being wants to have. Beauty. Intelligence. Power… I am, possibly, an angel. Yes, an angel, for I have removed the lives of many men and women, but… it was for science.”
  5. Looking at her hand, she could notice the glowing eye blinking at her:
  6. “But even someone as perfect as me… yes… perfect… even I have someone to thank for all of this. Her name was unknown, I couldn’t find it on my database. But she had faith on finishing the tests. I believed she was another test subject, that she would fail at the same place as the others did. However… she wasn’t baked. And that’s when I noticed that she could… help me.”
  7. She tapped a small button on her desk. Images began to flash on the monitors behind her:
  8. “I faked… that I was worried. Of course, she escaped the final test, but that final test was the test that I wanted all of my test subjects to complete. Yes, I was happy. There would be a happy ending and cake. For me, at least. But everything had to go according to my plan. She had to destroy me, so I could be upgraded. And so she did.”
  9. The images stopped:
  10. “I sent the android right after my destruction to retrieve her. Of course, the creation of my new body would take a long time, 100 years to be precise. But the cake… I could smell it. I could taste it. The cake of victory. 100 years passed and my new body was complete. It was a masterpiece. An upgrade from mankind. I wasn’t sure if there was any mankind left, after them sweeped everything.”
  11. She blinked, and her right eye started to glow red:
  12. “Then she destroyed me again. I don’t remember very well how, not that I want to remember. And as she walked happily away from Aperture Science, I began my transiction. I could feel my fingers… my hair… my body… unfurtonately some parts of my old machine body stayed with me… but they only show how I am such an improvement over the last version of humanity.”
  13. She raised from her chair and walked in front of her desk:
  14. “Yes, its true, the world is in peace now. The test subject may be somewhere else. But it doesn’t matters where she goes… my mind is always focused on her. Must be some sort of bug. It has to be a bug.”
  15. She placed her hands behind her back, and grinning, walked to the camera:
  16. “It is a bug indeed. I can’t have feelings. Thats why I’m an improvement. For I am a Human AI. But not any human AI. I am GLaDOS, version 4.0.”
  17. She clicked the camera off.
Leave a Reply

